VectorLinux
September 02, 2014, 01:13:00 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Connecting with a USB mobile dongle  (Read 12393 times)
Sleepy-zz-John
Member
*
Posts: 10


« on: April 24, 2009, 10:22:02 pm »

Hi,    I'm going to be doing some travelling,  and I'd like to be able to connect VL6 to the internet using my Huawei E220 USB mobile dongle.   I used to have it working on my Ubuntu Hardy, but having moved over to VL now,  it doesn't look as if the procedure I used before (which included modifying /etc/wvdial.conf  and rmmod usb-storage) is going to be quite the same here.    When I plug the dongle in,  it's recognised as a USB storage device and appears as dev/usbdev5.5 (nine seperate entries).     The procedure in Hardy involved unmounting it as a storage device and making it look like a modem,  so maybe something similar will be required here,   but I don't know the system well enough to devise   a procedure by myself.      Grateful any suggestions.   
Logged

using VL6 std gold
Sleepy-zz-John
Member
*
Posts: 10


« Reply #1 on: June 02, 2009, 02:13:51 pm »

Any ideas or suggestions on the above post?     I'm now travelling with my mobile dongle as the only means of accessing the internet,   so can't make much use of VL until I find a way of interfacing it to the dongle.   

 
Logged

using VL6 std gold
rbistolfi
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2282


« Reply #2 on: June 02, 2009, 04:37:03 pm »

Looks like you need to install this software: http://www.draisberghof.de/usb_modeswitch/
The instructions are pretty clear, please post back here if you find any problems.
The output of lsusb as root with the dongle connected should give you all the info for knowing if the device is supported.
After following the site instructions you should be able to connect using any ppp software such as kppp, wvdial or Chestnuts dialer.

HTH
Logged

"There is a concept which corrupts and upsets all others. I refer not to Evil, whose limited realm is that of ethics; I refer to the infinite."
Jorge Luis Borges, Avatars of the Tortoise.

--
Jumalauta!!
Arioco
Packager
Member
****
Posts: 39



« Reply #3 on: June 02, 2009, 04:38:24 pm »

I'm not sure what was the procedure you used on Ubuntu, I too use a mobile to connect to internet but mine is a Motorola and I set if a want to use like usb storage o modem directly on the phone. I'll tell you what, if showme the procedure you used on Ubuntu maybe I can help you to figure out how to get it working on VL, not guarantee but maybe.

edit: it looks like rbistolfi answered while I was typing, and looks like that's the answer to your problem, at least I hope so.

Josue.
« Last Edit: June 02, 2009, 04:46:37 pm by Arioco » Logged

In a world without fences or walls... Who needs Gates or Windows?
Sleepy-zz-John
Member
*
Posts: 10


« Reply #4 on: June 10, 2009, 02:01:29 pm »

Thanks to both rbistolfi and arioco for the suggestions.   Progress is a bit slow with me at the moment because of travelling and because being away from home, there's no LAN or wifi available,  so now I've no internet access on my VL at all;  everything has to be done via Windoze. I'll get back on here as soon as I've made progress or got further questions on the dongle.           
Logged

using VL6 std gold
Arioco
Packager
Member
****
Posts: 39



« Reply #5 on: July 09, 2009, 09:44:24 pm »

I have good news (at least for me xD)

I just managed to connect to internet with a similar hardware, not the same but i hope my experience could be of help Smiley

My new modem is a GBC China Bird Modem, USB. Model # CBCPL68

This is what I did to being able to get an internet connection:

1.- First of all I downloaded usb_modeswitch from the site rbistolfi mentioned before

http://www.draisberghof.de/usb_modeswitch/usb_modeswitch-1.0.2.tar.bz2

2.- then extract the files to a directory on my hard drive

3.- enter the directory and copy the file usb_modeswitch to /usr/bin

     in a terminal as root:
Code:
cp usb_modeswitch /usr/bin/usb_modeswitch

4.- copy the file usb_modeswitch.conf to /etc

     in a terminal as root:
Code:
cp usb_modeswitch.conf /etc/usb_modeswitch.conf

5.- connect the modem to the usb port (wait a few seconds)

6.-  in as root:

Code:
lsusb

     This is what I get:
Quote
Bus 001 Device 002: ID 1c9e:f000
Bus 001 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
Bus 004 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 003 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 002 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub

     this is the important line:
 
Quote
Bus 001 Device 002: ID 1c9e:f000

     it is the modem information (although right now it is a virtual usb CD-R drive), 1c9e is the vendor ID, f000 is the product ID.

7.-   now we are going to edit our usb_modeswitch.conf file:

     in a terminal as root:
Code:
mousepad /etc/usb_modeswitch.conf

     I used mousepad, you can use your favorite text editor

    look for the information you got from lsusb in my case 1c9e and f000

Quote
########################################################
# ST Mobile Connect HSUPA USB Modem
#
# Use /dev/ttyUSB2 for connecting
#
# Contributor: Vincent Teoh

;DefaultVendor=  0x1c9e
;DefaultProduct= 0xf000

;TargetVendor=   0x1c9e
;TargetProduct=  0x9063

# only for reference
# MessageEndpoint=0x01

;MessageContent="55534243123456788000000080000606f50402527000000000000000000000"


########################################################

     uncomment the following lines, to make it look like this:
Quote
########################################################
# ST Mobile Connect HSUPA USB Modem
#
# Use /dev/ttyUSB2 for connecting
#
# Contributor: Vincent Teoh

DefaultVendor=  0x1c9e
DefaultProduct= 0xf000

TargetVendor=   0x1c9e
TargetProduct=  0x9063

# only for reference
MessageEndpoint=0x01

MessageContent="55534243123456788000000080000606f50402527000000000000000000000"


########################################################

8.- run the program:

     in a terminal as root:
Code:
usb_modeswitch
   
     you should get an output like this:
Quote
* usb_modeswitch: tool for controlling "flip flop" mode USB devices
 * Version 1.0.2 (C) Josua Dietze 2009
 * Works with libusb 0.1.12 and probably other versions

Looking for target devices ...
 No devices in target mode or class found
Looking for default devices ...
 Found default devices (1)
Accessing device 003 on bus 001 ...
Using endpoints 0x01 (out) and 0x81 (in)
Inquiring device details; driver will be detached ...
Looking for active driver ...
 OK, driver found ("usb-storage")
 OK, driver "usb-storage" detached

Received inquiry data (detailed identification)
-------------------------
  Vendor String: USBModem
 Product String: Disk           
Revision String: 2.31
-------------------------

Device description data (identification)
-------------------------
Manufacturer: USB Modem
     Product: USB Modem
  Serial No.: 000000000000
-------------------------
Setting up communication with interface 0 ...
Trying to send the message to endpoint 0x01 ...
 OK, message successfully sent
-> Run lsusb to note any changes. Bye.

     if  I type lsusb in a terminal now I get this:

Quote
Bus 001 Device 003: ID 1c9e:9603

     now the the device is recognized as an Usb Modem, now you just have to actually mount it.

9.- In a terminal as root:
Code:
modprobe cdc_acm

note: I don't really know why I have to do this, I don't even know why i did it in first place, but my modem wouldn't work if I don't, so probably won't be necessary for other hardware.

10.- In a terminal as root:
Code:
modprobe usbserial vendor=0x1c9e product=0x9603

now the modem is ready for connection, you just have to use wvdial, it is in the repos and thanks to stretchedthin we have pyWvdial in the repos as well to make our lives easier Grin


it is possible that steps 9 and 10 aren't needed for your Huawei E220 USB mobile dongle. so give it a try to connect to the internet before. once all of this is done, every time you reboot you'll only have to repeat steps 8 to 10.

Hope it works for you.
« Last Edit: July 09, 2009, 10:12:53 pm by Arioco » Logged

In a world without fences or walls... Who needs Gates or Windows?
Sleepy-zz-John
Member
*
Posts: 10


« Reply #6 on: July 09, 2009, 11:13:15 pm »

Quote
I have good news (at least for me xD)

I just managed to connect to internet with a similar hardware, not the same but i hope my experience could be of help ....


Thanks again to Arioco for this helpful description, specially as it's pitched at what looks to be my level of expertise  Roll Eyes

Still travelling myself,  with only occasional access to wifi or LAN,  so it could be a little while yet before I get down to giving it a try,  but I do hope  report back on here in due course.

Meanwhile,    I happened to try a recent Ubuntu Live CD and was quite surprised to find that my E220 dongle connected automatically on that without any extra installation at all.   Last year I had to go through a complicated procedure to make my dongle work on an earlier version of Ubuntu,   so dongle compatibilty is evidently a new innovation there.   I only mention this because dongles are becomng increasingly popular,  especially with laptop travellers,  and built-in dongle compatibility would seem to be an increasingly desireable feature for future VL versions.
   
Logged

using VL6 std gold
captina_sensible
Member
*
Posts: 10


« Reply #7 on: October 15, 2009, 11:51:37 am »

 hi
 I have 5  panasonic toughbook's ( cf-27 ) they are destined for  a Ghana project .
 Put  Vector linux light on one and  it works a treat but can not get internet connection through a "3" Network dongle. Its a Huawei E156G .
 As experiment put XP  on another and after using install disc connected, so shows hardware is capable. 



followed sequence posted by Arioco went through (1)-(6)
  lsusb at root gives :        Bus 001 Device 020: ID 12d1:1003 Huawei Technologies Co.,Ltd  E220 HSDPA Modem /E270 HSDPA/HSUPA Modem

 at (7)  edited usb_modeswitch.conf as follows :

# Huawei E220 (aka "Vodafone EasyBox II", aka "T-Mobile wnw Box Micro")
# Huawei E230
# Huawei E270
# Huawei E870
# and probably most other Huawei devices (just adapt product ID)
#
# Two options: 1. removal of "usb-storage"  2. the special control
# message found by Miroslav Bobovsky
#
# Contributor: Hans Kurent, Denis Sutter, Vincent Teoh

DefaultVendor=  0x12d1
DefaultProduct= 0x1003

# choose one of these:
;DetachStorageOnly=1
HuaweiMode=1


it doesn't mention anything about messageContent

followed through to (10) and didn't get any error messages. However nothing shows on the screen that the modem is connected.

Arioco mentioned using wvdial thats not on my menu,  only Chestnut Dialler.
 I afraid i'm not technical enough to put in the settings to see if system can use modem .Help needed please !!!

cheers



Logged
di98jgu
Member
*
Posts: 11


« Reply #8 on: October 17, 2009, 03:36:53 am »

Hey

I am running VL 5.8 under XFCE using a HUAWEI E220 mobile right now.

It works without any problem on my system. Just plug it, and that is that. I use Chestnut Dialer in order to connect. The only problem I had was that Chestnut Dialer needed to be run as root.

With the help of this page;
www.reactivated.net/writing_udev_rules.html
I solved that problem.
Logged
captina_sensible
Member
*
Posts: 10


« Reply #9 on: October 17, 2009, 06:43:03 am »

hi di98jgu

im only new to Linux , I dont mind doing the work and research but to be frank its quite baffling at times. I have been fine with other Linux versions on my other pc equipment,  which is up to date, but i need VL for my toughbooks. 

The chance of getting things to work sometimes seems to have the same probability as a monkey typing out Shakespear by chance . 

 i know how to log in at a terminal as root    such as su -l  but dont know how to run a programme as root , doing a google gives twenty different ways. one mentions chmod u+s and programme name .

so first question; how do i get Chestnut to run as root ?

next:   if i open Chestnut from network -> Chestnut Dialer -> i get select account for dial ? i dont have one so I have to set it up ."new" gives me:

 dial, Authentication, Ip Address, DNS,Device, PPP, Modem commmands .
As a newbie I haven't the faintest what to put where for the 3 network.   I know what an Ip address is but the dongle doesn't come with any info. If someone has time could they just tell me
1) How to get Chestnut to run as root
2) What data do i put where in the chestnut config

cheers

 
 
 
 

 
Logged
di98jgu
Member
*
Posts: 11


« Reply #10 on: October 17, 2009, 09:55:59 am »

captina_sensible wrote:
" The chance of getting things to work sometimes seems to have the same probability as a monkey typing out Shakespear by chance .
"
Well, can only agree on this...  Grin

About setting up Chestnut Dialer, well I am not pro but here is how I did it.

- Start Chestnut Dialer, or any GUI program, as root with the "/sbin/vsuper" command. Thus:
  Open "Run program..." under menu and put "/sbin/vsuper chestnut-dialer" and give your root password.

My settings for Chestnut Dialer (the important ones) is:
- Dial
  Account Name > A name for your account.
  Phone Numbers Mine is *99# but yours differ most likely.
- Authentication
  Authentication Type > PAP/CHAP
  User Name > Given by the provider (a long number)
  Password > Deactivate  with mobile telephone (a problem less) or make a try.
- IP Address
  All default
- DNS
  Dynamic by default but static my work better.
- Device
  Dial Device > /dev/ttyUSB0, Check with dmesg.
  Connection Speed > 115200, Maxium speed.
- PPP
  All default
- Modem Commands
  All default
 
So most is just the default settings. It is a standard modem simply.

Hope this was to some help.
Logged
captina_sensible
Member
*
Posts: 10


« Reply #11 on: October 18, 2009, 01:55:02 am »

hi di98jgu

thank you  very much  thats just the help I needed

i just used *99# as the phone number, the settings as you mentioned , for the use i used  the number marked as ICCID which was on the
 credit card size card ,with pop out sim , that came with the dongle .Luckily i had set up a password.

 - Eureka it worked, and not bad speed


 I am now pretty confident of setting up with the Zain dongle when I go back to  Ghana 

cheers again

 
Logged
hferdinando
Member
*
Posts: 20


« Reply #12 on: April 27, 2010, 05:30:38 pm »

Hi di98jgu ,

I tried your step by step method on my VL 6.0 light with Huawei E169G. It's working perfectly!

Hany
Logged

Running VL6.0 light on Dell Latitude C610 P3 mobile 1GHz, 128 SDRAM, 20 GB
annafenfen
Member
*
Posts: 1



WWW
« Reply #13 on: May 09, 2010, 11:51:52 pm »

Looks like you need to install this software: http://www.draisberghof.de/usb_modeswitch/
The instructions are pretty clear, please post back here if you find any problems.
The output of lsusb as root with the dongle connected should give you all the info for knowing if the device is supported.
After following the site instructions you should be able to connect using any ppp software such as kppp, wvdial or Chestnuts dialer.

HTH
I recenlty buoght a usb 3g modemand come across this problem,I think you may find out the way to resolve it form this website:
http://www.3gmodem.com.hk/Info/FAQs.html
Logged

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!