VectorLinux

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Visit our home page for VL info. For support and documentation, visit the Vector Linux Knowledge Center or search the Knowledge Center and this Forum using the search box above.

Author Topic: WICD question  (Read 1262 times)

Brand-X

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 28
WICD question
« on: April 28, 2009, 07:56:57 pm »

When I boot at default runlevel 5 wicd loads automaticaly.  When I boot at default runlevel and later startx into xfce, wicd does not load and will not launch even though ps -e shows the process running.

Any ideas?  Aside from always booting @ runlevel 5?

Thanks,

~B
Logged

stretchedthin

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 3780
    • Opensourcebistro.com
Re: WICD question
« Reply #1 on: April 28, 2009, 10:04:16 pm »

What happens when you alt-f2 and run wicd-client at those other runlevels?
Logged
Vectorlinux screencasts and  tutorials can be found at....
http://www.opensourcebistro.com/blog1
http://www.youtube.com/user/vid4ken?feature=mhee

hata_ph

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 3261
  • -- Just being myself --
Re: WICD question
« Reply #2 on: April 28, 2009, 10:06:27 pm »

You can configure it by using VASM -> SERVICE -> SRVSET
Logged

newt

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1132
Re: WICD question
« Reply #3 on: April 29, 2009, 09:13:56 am »

As stretchedthin suggests, I've found that I need to the wicd-client (via terminal) before it'll work.
Logged

Brand-X

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 28
Re: WICD question
« Reply #4 on: April 29, 2009, 10:49:09 pm »

Thanks guys.  I'll check and see if it started at my default run level.  In the interim I'm using wpa_supplicant script friend wrote to associate via terminal and because I'm new, I'm cursing it and the heavens while memorizing the ifconfig and iwconfig man and help pages...

~B
Logged

bigpaws

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1869
Re: WICD question
« Reply #5 on: April 30, 2009, 06:34:42 am »

You can add the commands to /etc/rcd/rc.local


Here is a start, copy and paste to the location.


ifconfig "wlan0" up && iwconfig wlan0 essid "testme" && dhcpcd wlan0

You need to edit by removing the quotes and inserting your parameters.
The script your friend wrote could also be added to this.

When you boot up those commands will be executed automatically for you.

Bigpaws
Logged

Brand-X

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 28
Re: WICD question
« Reply #6 on: April 30, 2009, 12:44:04 pm »

What I want to do is get/make/alter code to add to rc.local which has some if/then arguments in it.  Or add a call to separate script.

So that wlan0 will scan for AP's in range and IF a essid appears on the scan that matches one defined in the code above, THEN it would call "essid_name_wlan0", which is the script that contains ifconfig wlan0 up, essid, AP, a call to a custom wpa_supplicant.conf file with psk info etc and dhcpcd wlan0).

Any bash geniuses in the house?

Thanks,
~B
Logged