VectorLinux
November 27, 2014, 12:27:48 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1] 2 3
  Print  
Author Topic: The computer will not connect to the internet.  (Read 7791 times)
_HG_
Member
*
Posts: 23


WWW
« on: May 10, 2009, 11:28:03 pm »

I am running VectorLinux 6.0 Standard Edition.

The computer is connected to the router with a cable.
During the boot process I can see the  [ OK ]  that it establish the network connection.
After logging in I hold the mouse over the system tray icon and it says Connected -1%.
The icon is gray with a yellow color at the low level mark. I guess it should be green and indicate 100%.

The cable goes into a network connector on the mother-board.
I have tried to insert a PCI networks card instead but the result is the same.

Unplugging the cable and plugging it to another computer makes that other computer connects perfectly to the internet, so the router and the cable is working.

Any idea what's wrong ?

PS.
I have tried other distros on the same computer and they also have failed.
So maybe it is hard-ware related, but how ?
DS.


/ _HG_
Logged
hata_ph
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 3259


-- Just being myself --


« Reply #1 on: May 11, 2009, 04:48:15 am »

post the result of ifconfig -a, lspci and lsmod as root.
Logged
_HG_
Member
*
Posts: 23


WWW
« Reply #2 on: May 11, 2009, 10:08:06 am »

Here it is:

root:# ifgonfig -a
eth0   Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:30:18:73:53:85
          BROADCAST MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:39 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:7 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:12918 (12.6 KiB)  TX bytes:4130 (4.0 KiB)
          Interrupt:11 Base address:0xc000

lo       Link encap:Local  Loopback
          inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
          UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 KiB)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 KiB)


root:# lspci
00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation 82845 845 [Brookdale] Chipset Host Bridge (rev 03)
00:01.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82845 845 [Brookdale] Chipset AGP Bridge (rev 03)
00:1e.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801 PCI Bridge (rev 12)
00:1f.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corporation 82801BA ISA Bridge (LPC) (rev 12)
00:1f.1 IDE interface: Intel Corporation 82801BA IDE U100 Controller (rev 12)
00:1f.2 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801BA/BAM USB Controller #1 (rev 12)
00:1f.3 SMBus: Intel Corporation 82801/BA BAM SMBus Controller (rev 12)
00:1f.4 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801BA/BAM USB Controller #1 (rev 12)
00:1f.5 Multimedia audio controller: Intel Corporation 82801BA/BAM AC'97 Audio Controller (rev 12)
02:0d.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL-8139/8139C/8139C+ (rev 10)
02:0e.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation NV44A [GeForce 6200] (rev a1)


root:# lsmod
Module                           Size   Used by
xt_limit                           3076  2
xt_pkttype                     2560  1
ipt_REJECT                    3840  2
xt_tcpudp                      3712  24
ipt_LOG                         6532  11
xt_state                         2816  7
iptable_mangle              3584  0
iptable_nat                    6024  0
iptable_filter                   3456  1
nf_conntrack_irc            6052  0
nf_nat_ftp                      3584  0
nf_nat                          16792  2 iptable_nat, nf_nat_ftp
nf_conntrack_ftp           8100  1 nf_nat_ftp
nf_conntrack_ipv4      14220  10 iptable_nat, nf_nat
nf_conntrack               55776  7 xt_state, iptable_nat, nf_contrack_irc, nf_nat_ftp, nf_nat, nf_conntrack_ftp, nf_conntrack_ipv4
ip_tables                     11536  3 iptable_mangle, iptable_nat, iptable_filter
x_tables                      13572  8 xt_limit, xt_pkttype, ipt_REJECT, xt_tcpudp, ipt_LOG, xt_state, iptable_nat, ip_tables
snd_seq_dummy          3716  0
snd_seq_oss              31872  0
snd_seq_midi_event    6912  1 snd_seq_oss
snd_seq                     48368  5 snd_seq_dummy, snd_seq_oss, snd_seq_midi_event
snd_seq_device          7436  3 snd_seq_dummy, snd_seq_oss, snd_seq
snd_pcm_oss            37408  0
snd_mixer_oss          15104  1 snd_pcm_oss
p4_clockmod               4900  0
speedstep_lib              4740  1 p4_clockmod
freq_table                    4352  1 p4_clockmod
ns558                           5248  0
gameport                   11020  2 ns558
rtc_cmos                    10144  0
rtc_core                     15132  1 rtc_cmos
rtc_lib                          3328  1 rtc_core
snd_intel8x0             29980  2
snd_ac97_codec      99492  1 snd_intel8x0
ac97_bus                   2432  1 snd_ac97_codec
snd_pcm                  67972  3 snd_pcm_oss, snd_intel8x0, snd_ac97_codec
8139too                   23936  0
snd_timer                 19976  2 snd_seq, snd_pcm
mii                              5376  1 8139too
snd                           51492  14 snd_seq_dummy, snd_seq_oss, snd_seq, snd_seq_device, snd_pcm_oss, snd_mixer_oss, snd_intel8x0, snd_ac97_codec, snd_pcm, snd_timer
soundcore                 7008  1 snd
snd_page_alloc         8840  2 snd_intel8x0, snd_pcm
i2c_i801                     9616  0
i2c_core                  21268  1 ic2_i801
iTCO_wdt                10916  0
shpchp                    29716  0
pci_hotplug             27040  1 shpchp
parport_pc              35908  0
parport                    31724  1 parport_pc
evdev                     10144  4


/ _HG_
Logged
bigpaws
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1857


« Reply #3 on: May 11, 2009, 12:10:02 pm »

Did you try VASM to setup the NIC card ?

Bigpaws
Logged
_HG_
Member
*
Posts: 23


WWW
« Reply #4 on: May 11, 2009, 07:30:46 pm »

I have run NETCONF in the VASM.
It gives no error messages but it does not succeed setting up the connection either.

/ _HG_
Logged
hata_ph
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 3259


-- Just being myself --


« Reply #5 on: May 12, 2009, 08:05:13 am »

Are your router configure to use DHCP or static IP?
Logged
_HG_
Member
*
Posts: 23


WWW
« Reply #6 on: May 12, 2009, 09:47:28 am »

It is configured to use DHCP.

/ _HG_
Logged
hata_ph
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 3259


-- Just being myself --


« Reply #7 on: May 12, 2009, 05:51:24 pm »

after u use vasm to configure the network, what is the output of ifconfig -a?
Logged
_HG_
Member
*
Posts: 23


WWW
« Reply #8 on: May 12, 2009, 07:52:22 pm »

root:# ifgonfig -a
eth0   Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:30:18:73:53:85
          BROADCAST MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:54 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:9 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:17527 (17.1 KiB)  TX bytes:5310 (5.1 KiB)
          Interrupt:11 Base address:0xc000

lo       Link encap:Local  Loopback
          inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
          UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 KiB)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 KiB)

/ _HG_
Logged
hata_ph
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 3259


-- Just being myself --


« Reply #9 on: May 12, 2009, 09:43:34 pm »

When the cable plug in to the computer is there light coming out from the jack?
Logged
_HG_
Member
*
Posts: 23


WWW
« Reply #10 on: May 12, 2009, 09:47:01 pm »

Yes, the LED is light up.
Logged
hata_ph
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 3259


-- Just being myself --


« Reply #11 on: May 13, 2009, 01:29:54 am »

try run dhcpcd in root......then post the output of ifconfig-a again.....
Logged
_HG_
Member
*
Posts: 23


WWW
« Reply #12 on: May 13, 2009, 11:41:50 am »

root:# ifgonfig -a
eth0   Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:30:18:73:53:85
          BROADCAST MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:91 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:11 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:30142 (29.4 KiB)  TX bytes:6490 (6.3 KiB)
          Interrupt:11 Base address:0xc000

lo       Link encap:Local  Loopback
          inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
          UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 KiB)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 KiB)

/ _HG_
Logged
Brand-X
Member
*
Posts: 28


« Reply #13 on: May 13, 2009, 01:38:55 pm »

I'm new so I'm not sure this will help, but I would run:
Code:
ifconfig eth0 up && dhcpcd eth0

or are wireless interfaces the only ones that have to be "up"ed?
Logged
_HG_
Member
*
Posts: 23


WWW
« Reply #14 on: May 15, 2009, 03:18:59 am »

Googling around about Realtek RTL-8139 and Linux gives several results where it seames obvious that it is the Realtek RTL-8139 ChipSet that doesn't like to be in the Linux environment.
But the first distro I tested on this computer was Slackware 12.2 and it did connect perfectly to the internet.
Then I decided to use a distro that handled denpendencies, so among a handful of distros I decided give VectorLinux a try.
Also Kubuntu 9.04 failed to connect to the internet.
Since VectorLinux is based on Slackware I never expected this kind of problems, but I think that I have to go back and use Slackware 12.2 after all.

/ _HG_
Logged
Pages: [1] 2 3
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!