Please support VectorLinux!

Author Topic: desktop clock  (Read 2195 times)

kato4059

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 10
desktop clock
« on: March 26, 2009, 08:04:10 pm »
HI:
I would like to know how I can adjust the clock on the desktop to the correct time. I tried Right -click,but that did not help.
I looked in the System menu, but no luck.
kato4059 ;)

hata_ph

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 3261
  • -- Just being myself --
Re: desktop clock
« Reply #1 on: March 26, 2009, 08:10:52 pm »
what version of VL you are using?
what window manager you are using?

kato4059

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: desktop clock
« Reply #2 on: March 26, 2009, 08:28:58 pm »
I am using the following :
Standard Gold 5.9 with a HP Pavillion 6700 128 Mb Ram, 15gb HD.
Does this help ?
kato4059 ;)

GrannyGeek

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 2567
Re: desktop clock
« Reply #3 on: March 26, 2009, 11:17:33 pm »
To set date and time, use VASMCC, Hardware, Date and Time.
--GrannyGeek
Registered Linux User #397786

Happily running VL 7 Gold on  a Sempron LE-1300 desktop (2.3 GHz), 4 G RAM,  GeForce 6150 SE onboard graphics and on an HP Pavilion dv7 i7, 6 gigs, Intel 2nd Generation Integrated Graphics Controller

kato4059

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: desktop clock
« Reply #4 on: March 27, 2009, 12:06:25 am »
Have tried that,but the time is still 1800 hrs, instead of 1906.
kato4059

stretchedthin

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 3780
    • Opensourcebistro.com
Re: desktop clock
« Reply #5 on: March 27, 2009, 04:19:57 am »
kato4059, is this what you are doing?
http://www.opensourcebistro.com/Tutorial/VL60/02.Beginners-guide/Date-Time/changing-date-and-time.htm.

Also, does your time just not set? Or, does it set but change back when you reboot?
Vectorlinux screencasts and  tutorials can be found at....
http://www.opensourcebistro.com/blog1
http://www.youtube.com/user/vid4ken?feature=mhee

cato40

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: desktop clock
« Reply #6 on: April 05, 2009, 07:52:42 pm »
Thanks, It is correctly set for now.
cato40 :)

cmccullough

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: desktop clock
« Reply #7 on: May 14, 2009, 09:21:50 am »
sorry to reply to an older post but i found it while searching for this exact issue.  i'm running the new 6.0 light.  when i set the timezone to local time, it doesn't update.  it stays at GMT -4.  i don't mind if stays at GMT, i guess, but i'm curious as to why it won't update.

thanks

stretchedthin

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 3780
    • Opensourcebistro.com
Re: desktop clock
« Reply #8 on: May 14, 2009, 06:01:53 pm »
As root in the terminal you can use timeconfig to re-set and see if that makes any difference.
You can also try tzselect and reselect a timezone.
Also as root in the terminal you can use vdateset and set your time manually

I think localtime just takes on the settings of your hardware clock.
Vectorlinux screencasts and  tutorials can be found at....
http://www.opensourcebistro.com/blog1
http://www.youtube.com/user/vid4ken?feature=mhee