VectorLinux

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Visit our home page for VL info. For support and documentation, visit the Vector Linux Knowledge Center or search the Knowledge Center and this Forum using the search box above.

Author Topic: desktop clock  (Read 2249 times)

kato4059

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 10
desktop clock
« on: March 26, 2009, 09:04:10 pm »

HI:
I would like to know how I can adjust the clock on the desktop to the correct time. I tried Right -click,but that did not help.
I looked in the System menu, but no luck.
kato4059 ;)
Logged

hata_ph

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 3261
  • -- Just being myself --
Re: desktop clock
« Reply #1 on: March 26, 2009, 09:10:52 pm »

what version of VL you are using?
what window manager you are using?
Logged

kato4059

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: desktop clock
« Reply #2 on: March 26, 2009, 09:28:58 pm »

I am using the following :
Standard Gold 5.9 with a HP Pavillion 6700 128 Mb Ram, 15gb HD.
Does this help ?
kato4059 ;)
Logged

GrannyGeek

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 2567
Re: desktop clock
« Reply #3 on: March 27, 2009, 12:17:33 am »

To set date and time, use VASMCC, Hardware, Date and Time.
--GrannyGeek
Logged
Registered Linux User #397786

Happily running VL 7 Gold on  a Sempron LE-1300 desktop (2.3 GHz), 4 G RAM,  GeForce 6150 SE onboard graphics and on an HP Pavilion dv7 i7, 6 gigs, Intel 2nd Generation Integrated Graphics Controller

kato4059

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: desktop clock
« Reply #4 on: March 27, 2009, 01:06:25 am »

Have tried that,but the time is still 1800 hrs, instead of 1906.
kato4059
Logged

stretchedthin

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 3780
    • Opensourcebistro.com
Re: desktop clock
« Reply #5 on: March 27, 2009, 05:19:57 am »

kato4059, is this what you are doing?
http://www.opensourcebistro.com/Tutorial/VL60/02.Beginners-guide/Date-Time/changing-date-and-time.htm.

Also, does your time just not set? Or, does it set but change back when you reboot?
Logged
Vectorlinux screencasts and  tutorials can be found at....
http://www.opensourcebistro.com/blog1
http://www.youtube.com/user/vid4ken?feature=mhee

cato40

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: desktop clock
« Reply #6 on: April 05, 2009, 08:52:42 pm »

Thanks, It is correctly set for now.
cato40 :)
Logged

cmccullough

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: desktop clock
« Reply #7 on: May 14, 2009, 10:21:50 am »

sorry to reply to an older post but i found it while searching for this exact issue.  i'm running the new 6.0 light.  when i set the timezone to local time, it doesn't update.  it stays at GMT -4.  i don't mind if stays at GMT, i guess, but i'm curious as to why it won't update.

thanks
Logged

stretchedthin

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 3780
    • Opensourcebistro.com
Re: desktop clock
« Reply #8 on: May 14, 2009, 07:01:53 pm »

As root in the terminal you can use timeconfig to re-set and see if that makes any difference.
You can also try tzselect and reselect a timezone.
Also as root in the terminal you can use vdateset and set your time manually

I think localtime just takes on the settings of your hardware clock.
Logged
Vectorlinux screencasts and  tutorials can be found at....
http://www.opensourcebistro.com/blog1
http://www.youtube.com/user/vid4ken?feature=mhee