VectorLinux

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Visit our home page for VL info. For support and documentation, visit the Vector Linux Knowledge Center or search the Knowledge Center and this Forum using the search box above.

Author Topic: Terminal/Console Question  (Read 2071 times)

root

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 28
Terminal/Console Question
« on: January 05, 2009, 10:48:17 am »

Hi , i just did slapt-get update and after rebooting the system , the terminal is in bash mode . I will appriciate if someone tell me how to get back the old one . ???
Logged
minimal monster

nightflier

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 4085
Re: Terminal/Console Question
« Reply #1 on: January 05, 2009, 11:33:33 am »

Not sure what you are describing here, please supply some more information about what you are seeing.
Logged

root

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 28
Re: Terminal/Console Question
« Reply #2 on: January 05, 2009, 11:47:38 am »

When i open the xterm it says : "bash-3.1#"
Before it use to be "root:/"
Now when i exec (example) "slapt-get" it says : bash: slapt-get: command not found
What went wrong ? :-[
Logged
minimal monster

caitlyn

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 2876
    • The Linux Works
Re: Terminal/Console Question
« Reply #3 on: January 05, 2009, 01:45:24 pm »

 Nothing went wrong.  You are logged in as an ordinary user instead of root.  As a general rule this is a GOOD thing.  You should only use root when you absolutely must as it gives you G-d like privileges and lets you destroy anything and everything on your system.

To get back to root mode type in:

su -

and it will ask you for your root password.

You are using BASH (Bourne Again Shell) whether you are root or an ordinary user unless you specifically choose another shell for your user account.

The reason you got a command not found error is because your path doesn't include /sbin as an ordinary user.  If you want /sbin included in your path you need to edit your ~/.bashrc file and add it to your PATH= statement.
Logged
eMachines EL-1300G desktop, 1.6GHz AMD Athlon 2650e CPU, 4GB RAM, nVidia GeForce 6150 SE video
CentOS 6.5 (will try VL64-7.1 soon)

Toshiba Satellite A135-S4727,  Intel Pentium T2080 / 1.73 GHz, 2GB RAM, Intel GMA 950

HP Mini 110 netbook, 1.6GHz Intel Atom CPU, 2GB RAM, Intel 950 video, VL 7.1

root

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 28
Re: Terminal/Console Question
« Reply #4 on: January 05, 2009, 03:03:21 pm »

Thanks , for your help . ;)
Logged
minimal monster

hlekat

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 30
Re: Terminal/Console Question
« Reply #5 on: May 26, 2009, 10:41:13 am »

i think i have the same problem!

i am using vector 6.0 xfce.

where can i find the configuration file?
Logged

hlekat

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 30
Re: Terminal/Console Question
« Reply #6 on: May 28, 2009, 02:48:22 am »

thanks!! that was it, i replace the configuration file and gslapt is working fine!
Logged