VectorLinux
October 25, 2014, 12:20:20 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Terminal/Console Question  (Read 1923 times)
root
Member
*
Posts: 28


« on: January 05, 2009, 10:48:17 am »

Hi , i just did slapt-get update and after rebooting the system , the terminal is in bash mode . I will appriciate if someone tell me how to get back the old one . Huh
Logged

minimal monster
nightflier
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 4026



« Reply #1 on: January 05, 2009, 11:33:33 am »

Not sure what you are describing here, please supply some more information about what you are seeing.
Logged
root
Member
*
Posts: 28


« Reply #2 on: January 05, 2009, 11:47:38 am »

When i open the xterm it says : "bash-3.1#"
Before it use to be "root:/"
Now when i exec (example) "slapt-get" it says : bash: slapt-get: command not found
What went wrong ? Embarrassed
Logged

minimal monster
caitlyn
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2876


WWW
« Reply #3 on: January 05, 2009, 01:45:24 pm »

 Nothing went wrong.  You are logged in as an ordinary user instead of root.  As a general rule this is a GOOD thing.  You should only use root when you absolutely must as it gives you G-d like privileges and lets you destroy anything and everything on your system.

To get back to root mode type in:

su -

and it will ask you for your root password.

You are using BASH (Bourne Again Shell) whether you are root or an ordinary user unless you specifically choose another shell for your user account.

The reason you got a command not found error is because your path doesn't include /sbin as an ordinary user.  If you want /sbin included in your path you need to edit your ~/.bashrc file and add it to your PATH= statement.
Logged

eMachines EL-1300G desktop, 1.6GHz AMD Athlon 2650e CPU, 4GB RAM, nVidia GeForce 6150 SE video
CentOS 6.5 (will try VL64-7.1 soon)

Toshiba Satellite A135-S4727,  Intel Pentium T2080 / 1.73 GHz, 2GB RAM, Intel GMA 950

HP Mini 110 netbook, 1.6GHz Intel Atom CPU, 2GB RAM, Intel 950 video, VL 7.1
root
Member
*
Posts: 28


« Reply #4 on: January 05, 2009, 03:03:21 pm »

Thanks , for your help . Wink
Logged

minimal monster
hlekat
Member
*
Posts: 30


« Reply #5 on: May 26, 2009, 09:41:13 am »

i think i have the same problem!

i am using vector 6.0 xfce.

where can i find the configuration file?
Logged
hlekat
Member
*
Posts: 30


« Reply #6 on: May 28, 2009, 01:48:22 am »

thanks!! that was it, i replace the configuration file and gslapt is working fine!
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!