VectorLinux

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Visit our home page for VL info. For support and documentation, visit the Vector Linux Knowledge Center or search the Knowledge Center and this Forum using the search box above.

Author Topic: wlan  (Read 3001 times)

ghartl1

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 379
wlan
« on: June 08, 2009, 05:18:32 am »

hi,


i use soho 5.9.1

i posted already a few days ago and fixed partly the issue with wlan.

i use wicd now to go on air.

is there a way to go online without wicd,because wicd sometimes fail to detect my accesspoint..so i have to reboot and try..after 5 times it mostly works..

can i modify my files to go online ?
the laptop is stationary and uses only this on ap.

where and how should i edit the files?

wep encryption is set (hex)
apname tg
dhcp from the modem
dns too


greets günter
Logged

hata_ph

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 3261
  • -- Just being myself --
Re: wlan
« Reply #1 on: June 08, 2009, 06:33:24 am »

did you try vlwif, wifi-radar?
Logged

ghartl1

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 379
Re: wlan
« Reply #2 on: June 08, 2009, 06:43:15 am »

yes of course..

vlwifi uses wifi-radar..as far as i know...

wifi-radar never got an connection..recognized my network indeed..never got an ip adress..

maybe the modem used another method (pump, dhclient,dhcpcd....whatever)to get an ip

even as im assigned an adres static (the correct one indeed) it never hooked me up

i really ot an connection to the ap..but never in the internet
Logged

M0E-lnx

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 3277
Re: wlan
« Reply #3 on: June 08, 2009, 06:50:17 am »

vlwifi does not use wifi radar.. I think it uses wpa_supplicant.

there must be some error in your ip assignment method

ghartl1

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 379
Re: wlan
« Reply #4 on: June 08, 2009, 07:34:14 am »

does wpa_supplicant handles wep encryption too?
Logged

M0E-lnx

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 3277
Re: wlan
« Reply #5 on: June 08, 2009, 08:05:25 am »

if wicd works for you then it should... I dont know I only use wpa.
Only use wep for networks i've cracked ;)

ghartl1

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 379
Re: wlan
« Reply #6 on: June 08, 2009, 08:10:54 am »

not my network anyway :-)))
Logged

M0E-lnx

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 3277
Re: wlan
« Reply #7 on: June 08, 2009, 08:33:22 am »

;)

Really dude, you should consider upgrading to 6.0
better firmware and better wicd operation.

ghartl1

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 379
Re: wlan
« Reply #8 on: June 08, 2009, 12:51:41 pm »

yes maybe....but she loves the 3.5.9 kde desktop...kde 4.2 is too fancy for her...
Logged

M0E-lnx

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 3277
Re: wlan
« Reply #9 on: June 08, 2009, 01:10:48 pm »

That's too bad

stretchedthin

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 3780
    • Opensourcebistro.com
Re: wlan
« Reply #10 on: June 08, 2009, 01:17:10 pm »

I remembered Vec gave some instruction on setting up wicd when it was first being tried.

You can find the link here.
http://forum.vectorlinux.com/index.php?action=printpage%3Btopic=7449.0
Maybe it will help
Logged
Vectorlinux screencasts and  tutorials can be found at....
http://www.opensourcebistro.com/blog1
http://www.youtube.com/user/vid4ken?feature=mhee

ghartl1

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 379
Re: wlan
« Reply #11 on: June 08, 2009, 01:23:36 pm »

thanks for the link

and good night


i will keep you updated..

it can take a while..see the laptop in the next 2 weeks around..

thanks for your efforts meanwhile

greets günter
Logged