VectorLinux
July 22, 2014, 09:14:10 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.

Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: VL6 Kernel compilation general question (and alsa driver especial)  (Read 2419 times)
bootcommander

« on: June 09, 2009, 02:39:26 am »

Hi everybody,

I'm new to vectorlinux but have already some experience with linux.
I have some questions regarding kernel compilation within vectorlinux.
By the way I'm using VL6.0 light.

My goal is to add the magic SysRq feature and processor specific optimizations to my kernel.

Let's start with the generic questions:
1) What is the /usr/src/build-2.6.27.12 directory for?
It seems to me that it's use is to patch a vanilla kernel for use within VL.
But when I only want to change some features from the delivered kernel it should be O.K. to work inside the /usr/src/linux-2.6.27.12 directory. This sources should already include all patches and adaptions for VL.
Is this right or am I wrong?

2) When do I need to recompile the kernel modules?
I've read that there is a kind of compatibility layer which allows to link modules to newer kernels - which of course works only up to a certain amount and of course only when the processor type (for example x86) remains the same.

My question targets more to the goal I've described above:
When I only add or remove some kernel features and activate processor specific optimizations (for example target processor PII) will I need to recompile the kernel modules?