VectorLinux
December 22, 2014, 03:40:28 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 5
  Print  
Author Topic: vcpufreq development thread  (Read 25352 times)
Joe1962
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 2499



WWW
« on: November 20, 2006, 03:32:12 pm »

This thread will be dedicated to discussions on the development and bug-fixing of vcpufreq.

I'll start it off by announcing the release of vcpufreq-1.0.2. Here's the whole changelog, as this is the first time:
Code:
2006-11-20   <joe1962@users.sourceforge.net>

* Released 1.0.2

2006-11-20    <joe1962@users.sourceforge.net>

* Added error handling for weird content in scaling_available_frequencies

2006-11-19    <joe1962@users.sourceforge.net>

* Added error handling for missing cpufreq files
* Implemented read-only mode if not root

2006-10-31    <joe1962@users.sourceforge.net>

* Released 1.0.1

2006-10-31    <joe1962@users.sourceforge.net>

* Now outputs info messages to syslog (tail /var/log/messages)
* Fixed manual "Refresh" button

2006-10-28    <joe1962@users.sourceforge.net>

* Released 1.0.0

2006-10-28    <joe1962@users.sourceforge.net>

* Added vcpufreq-load cli utility for setting saved config on boot
* Renamed project to vcpufreq

As you can see, I wasn't actually keeping much of a changelog before 1.0... Embarrassed

You can download 1.0.2 here (or just use slapt-get/gslapt after updating the veclinux-current/packages source): http://vectorlinux.osuosl.org/veclinux-current/packages/base-apps/vcpufreq-1.0.2-i586-4vl58.tlz
« Last Edit: August 31, 2011, 01:06:05 pm by M0E-lnx » Logged

O'Neill (RE the Asgard): "Usually they ask nicely before they ignore us and do what they damn well please."
http://joe1962.bigbox.info
Running: VL 7 Std 64 + self-cooked XFCE-4.10
Joe1962
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 2499



WWW
« Reply #1 on: January 19, 2007, 04:25:04 pm »

vcpufreq development has moved to: http://code.google.com/p/vcpufreq/
Logged

O'Neill (RE the Asgard): "Usually they ask nicely before they ignore us and do what they damn well please."
http://joe1962.bigbox.info
Running: VL 7 Std 64 + self-cooked XFCE-4.10
Joe1962
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 2499



WWW
« Reply #2 on: January 23, 2007, 10:13:18 pm »

1.0.3 bugfix release is now available on the new project page (link in previous post) and in the 5.8 patches/ repo. This should resolve the 2 known bugs listed here: http://code.google.com/p/vcpufreq/issues/list

Changelog since previous release:
Code:
2007-01-23   <joe1962@users.sourceforge.net>

* Released 1.0.3

2007-01-23   <joe1962@users.sourceforge.net>

* Fixed issue #1: Error popup: Unable to set desired scaling governor... when module already loaded.
* Fixed issue #2: App crash with Gambas error: wanted Integer (or string), got Null instead
Logged

O'Neill (RE the Asgard): "Usually they ask nicely before they ignore us and do what they damn well please."
http://joe1962.bigbox.info
Running: VL 7 Std 64 + self-cooked XFCE-4.10
easuter
Global Moderator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 2160



« Reply #3 on: February 01, 2007, 03:29:15 am »

After installing VL 5.8 on a computer at school, I tried to run vcpufreq, but got an error saying there was a "type mismatch" (wanting an integer, got null).
Since this is a known issue in 1.0.2 and listed at the vcpufreq project page, I just got the 1.0.3 tlz and used "upgradepkg" to upgrade the package.

Unfortunately, the problem persists after the upgrade (terminal output):

Code:
FMain.?.0: #6: Type mismatch: wanted Integer, got Null instead
WARNING: circular references detected
FMain (1)

EDIT:

Not sure if this will help, but anyway:
After getting the sources with svn, I attempted to run vcpufreq from within the gambas IDE, and the same error occured. The IDE opened the FMain form class and jumped to line 80 (so I guess thats where the problem might be?).
« Last Edit: February 01, 2007, 03:52:36 am by easuter » Logged

easuter
Global Moderator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 2160



« Reply #4 on: February 01, 2007, 09:29:44 am »

Yep, after commenting out lines 78,79 and 80 in FMain of vcpufreq-gui, the vcpufreq interface starts, and shows all the processor details and seems to load the appropriate modules.
I haven't proceeded any further though, because I'm not quite sure if what I did will break anything else further along... Embarrassed
« Last Edit: February 01, 2007, 10:42:28 am by easuter » Logged

Joe1962
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 2499



WWW
« Reply #5 on: February 01, 2007, 11:27:37 am »

Thanks for the report. Can you post here the contents of /etc/vcpufreq.conf and /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/scaling_available_frequencies so I can check something? By the way, which module and governor show up when you run it without those lines?
Logged

O'Neill (RE the Asgard): "Usually they ask nicely before they ignore us and do what they damn well please."
http://joe1962.bigbox.info
Running: VL 7 Std 64 + self-cooked XFCE-4.10
easuter
Global Moderator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 2160



« Reply #6 on: February 01, 2007, 11:44:20 am »

Thanks for the report. Can you post here the contents of /etc/vcpufreq.conf and /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/scaling_available_frequencies so I can check something? By the way, which module and governor show up when you run it without those lines?


Sure thing but only tomorrow, I'm home already Wink

By the way, I remember using "locate" to try to find vcpufreq.conf after doing an updatedb, but it wasn't found....
Logged

easuter
Global Moderator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 2160



« Reply #7 on: February 02, 2007, 06:53:19 am »

Well, it has definitely got something to do specifically with line 80.
vcpufreq will run even if I comment out only line 80, and leave lines 78 and 79 unchanged.

To answer your previous questions:

 - /etc/vcpufreq.conf doesn't exist (using ls /etc | grep vcpu returned nothing).

 - the contents of /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/scaling_available_frequencies:

Code:
$ cat /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/scaling_available_frequencies
212500 425000 637500 850000 1062500 1275000 1487500 1700000

 - the module is p4-clockmod (appears as p4_clockmod with lsmod) and the governor that appears in vcpufreq is userspace.
Logged

Joe1962
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 2499



WWW
« Reply #8 on: February 02, 2007, 07:23:50 am »

This is going to be a tough one. I can't duplicate this issue here. I even deleted my vcpufreq.conf and it was recreated as it should be once I exited the app with "Save on exit" set. I'll keep looking into it. Now that you've got the source, I can figure out some way to diagnose the state on your PC at that line and post it for you.
Logged

O'Neill (RE the Asgard): "Usually they ask nicely before they ignore us and do what they damn well please."
http://joe1962.bigbox.info
Running: VL 7 Std 64 + self-cooked XFCE-4.10
Joe1962
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 2499



WWW
« Reply #9 on: February 02, 2007, 08:28:41 am »

I'm going to double-post because you need to get notified... Embarrassed. I have a hunch... Grin, please post the contents of:

/sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/cpuinfo_max_freq
/sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/cpuinfo_min_freq
/sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/scaling_max_freq
/sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/scaling_min_freq
Logged

O'Neill (RE the Asgard): "Usually they ask nicely before they ignore us and do what they damn well please."
http://joe1962.bigbox.info
Running: VL 7 Std 64 + self-cooked XFCE-4.10
easuter
Global Moderator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 2160



« Reply #10 on: February 02, 2007, 12:18:01 pm »

I'm going to double-post because you need to get notified... Embarrassed. I have a hunch... Grin, please post the contents of:

/sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/cpuinfo_max_freq
/sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/cpuinfo_min_freq
/sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/scaling_max_freq
/sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/scaling_min_freq


No problem, but only on monday...

not sure if I can wait that long  Cry
Logged

easuter
Global Moderator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 2160



« Reply #11 on: February 05, 2007, 07:43:34 am »

Woohoo! After pulling the SVN trunk (revision 9) for the vcpufreq source, it runs in the Gambas IDE without any problems at all!!

Anyway, here is the info from your last post (probably just to confirm your suspicions, since your hunch must be correct   Grin):

Code:
$ cat /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/cpuinfo_max_freq
1700000

$ cat /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/cpuinfo_min_freq
212500

$ cat /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/scaling_max_freq
1700000

$ cat /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/scaling_min_freq
212500


and just for the heck of it, the cpuinfo (so you can add this processor to your list of troublemakers  Wink):

Code:
$ cat /proc/cpuinfo
processor       : 0
vendor_id       : GenuineIntel
cpu family      : 15
model           : 1
model name      : Intel(R) Celeron(R) CPU 1.70GHz
stepping        : 3
cpu MHz         : 1700.000
cache size      : 128 KB
fdiv_bug        : no
hlt_bug         : no
f00f_bug        : no
coma_bug        : no
fpu             : yes
fpu_exception   : yes
cpuid level     : 2
wp              : yes
flags           : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush dts acpi mmx fxsr sse sse2 ss ht tm up
bogomips        : 3401.96
« Last Edit: February 05, 2007, 07:45:19 am by easuter » Logged

Joe1962
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 2499



WWW
« Reply #12 on: February 05, 2007, 07:55:14 am »

Actually, everything looks all right. Now I really can't figure out why you get that error. It's in a loop that adds each available frequency to the combos. On each loop, it checks to see if it matches the current, Max and Min freq between the PC settings (or the saved config) and the list it just got. The issue happens when it doesn't match with any on the list, but your lists do match... Shocked. Anyway, the hack was to force the Max. to the max if not found, and the Min. to the min, lol.
Logged

O'Neill (RE the Asgard): "Usually they ask nicely before they ignore us and do what they damn well please."
http://joe1962.bigbox.info
Running: VL 7 Std 64 + self-cooked XFCE-4.10
easuter
Global Moderator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 2160



« Reply #13 on: February 05, 2007, 08:04:44 am »

Huh...thats a bugger Sad

Well at least it working now  Smiley
Logged

Joe1962
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 2499



WWW
« Reply #14 on: February 06, 2007, 09:25:57 pm »

New vcpufreq bug-fix release 1.0.4 is now available for download on the Project page or the VL 5.8 testing/ repo.

vcpufreq project page: http://code.google.com/p/vcpufreq/

Changelog:
Code:
2007-02-06   <joe1962@users.sourceforge.net>

* Released 1.0.4

2007-02-02   <joe1962@users.sourceforge.net>

* Added hacks for non-matching current, max. or min. freqs (empty tag situations) on some systems.

Logged

O'Neill (RE the Asgard): "Usually they ask nicely before they ignore us and do what they damn well please."
http://joe1962.bigbox.info
Running: VL 7 Std 64 + self-cooked XFCE-4.10
Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 5
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!