VectorLinux

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Visit our home page for VL info. For support and documentation, visit the Vector Linux Knowledge Center or search the Knowledge Center and this Forum using the search box above.

Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 5

Author Topic: vcpufreq development thread  (Read 26673 times)

LLL

  • Global Moderator
  • Vectorite
  • *****
  • Posts: 263
  • The sun is shining...
Re: vcpufreq development thread
« Reply #15 on: June 15, 2008, 06:35:47 am »

Any reason why vcpufreq won't allow me to set a lower minimum CPU freq when using the ondemand module?

I was able to set it considerably lower, and across a greater range/number of options in my 5.8 install, but I'm limited to only 1.2 or 1.8 GHz in 5.9 with vcpufreq 1.0.4.

Hoping to save some battery/energy/fan action - thanks!

LLL
Logged
Lost & Lovin' Linux...living on:
VectorLinux 6.0 with XFCE on Thinkpad T43p (2.13 GHz | 2GB | 60GB)

Joe1962

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 2499
    • Joe1962's Website
Re: vcpufreq development thread
« Reply #16 on: June 16, 2008, 03:54:39 pm »

The available freqs are parsed by vcpufreq from the list set up by the loaded cpufreq kernel module. Could be 5.9 is using a different or updated module, or compatibility with vcpufreq parsing has broken. Check the contents of /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/scaling_setspeed.
Logged
O'Neill (RE the Asgard): "Usually they ask nicely before they ignore us and do what they damn well please."
http://joe1962.bigbox.info
Running: VL 7 Std 64 + self-cooked XFCE-4.10

Joe1962

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 2499
    • Joe1962's Website
Re: vcpufreq development thread
« Reply #17 on: December 22, 2008, 09:38:31 am »

Just for updating the vcpufreq news a bit:

- Fixed processor count algorithm to account for changes in recent kernels (would give +1 CPUs).
- Ported to Gambas2.
- Added the new root check code from vl-hot 2.0 that calls kdesu or gksu as found.
- Set up a new project page at BerliOS (since googlecode is blocking my country): http://developer.berlios.de/projects/vl-hot/

The project page was just set up and  I need to wait about 6 hours for the svn to work before importing the current code as starting point.
Logged
O'Neill (RE the Asgard): "Usually they ask nicely before they ignore us and do what they damn well please."
http://joe1962.bigbox.info
Running: VL 7 Std 64 + self-cooked XFCE-4.10

Joe1962

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 2499
    • Joe1962's Website
Re: vcpufreq development thread
« Reply #18 on: January 15, 2009, 01:36:11 pm »

Just released vcpufreq-2.0.2 on the BerliOS project site. All those with the AMD issue where the cpufreq kernel driver did not create a "scaling_available_frequencies" file, please test this version!

https://developer.berlios.de/projects/vcpufreq/

Changelog (including that for not officially released 2.0.0):
Quote
2009-01-15   

   * Released 2.0.2

2009-01-15   

   * If no available_freqs, use maxfreq and minfreq for freqs dropdown.
   * Prioritize gksu over kdesu.

2008-12-13   

   * Released 2.0.0

2008-12-12   

   * Ported to Gambas2.
   * Fixed number of CPUs calculation for newer kernels.
   * Changed root user check to user ID 0.
   * vcpufreq now checks for kdesu or gksu and runs with first found.
   * Added check for no config file in vcpufreq-loader.
Logged
O'Neill (RE the Asgard): "Usually they ask nicely before they ignore us and do what they damn well please."
http://joe1962.bigbox.info
Running: VL 7 Std 64 + self-cooked XFCE-4.10

vector

  • Administrator
  • Vectorite
  • *****
  • Posts: 482
Re: vcpufreq development thread
« Reply #19 on: January 15, 2009, 06:43:43 pm »

hey Joe this one works fine for me with my old amd athlon 2500+..................... ;D

Vec
Logged

sparkyhall

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 118
Re: vcpufreq development thread
« Reply #20 on: January 18, 2009, 02:53:13 pm »

Works fine for me to on an amd 2500+ OC to 3200+ on VL6.0 RC3.

Thanks,

Chris
Logged

caitlyn

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 2876
    • The Linux Works
Re: vcpufreq development thread
« Reply #21 on: January 18, 2009, 03:22:42 pm »

Joe:  do you have packages for VL 5.9 and/or VL 6.0 ready?  Do you want me to add them to the repo?
Logged
eMachines EL-1300G desktop, 1.6GHz AMD Athlon 2650e CPU, 4GB RAM, nVidia GeForce 6150 SE video
CentOS 6.5 (will try VL64-7.1 soon)

Toshiba Satellite A135-S4727,  Intel Pentium T2080 / 1.73 GHz, 2GB RAM, Intel GMA 950

HP Mini 110 netbook, 1.6GHz Intel Atom CPU, 2GB RAM, Intel 950 video, VL 7.1

Joe1962

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 2499
    • Joe1962's Website
Re: vcpufreq development thread
« Reply #22 on: January 19, 2009, 07:02:12 am »

I just repackaged (2vl59 and 2vl60) because I had forgotten to update the builddate info in slack-desc. They are here:

http://developer.berlios.de/project/showfiles.php?group_id=10469
« Last Edit: January 19, 2009, 09:06:24 am by Joe1962 »
Logged
O'Neill (RE the Asgard): "Usually they ask nicely before they ignore us and do what they damn well please."
http://joe1962.bigbox.info
Running: VL 7 Std 64 + self-cooked XFCE-4.10

M0E-lnx

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 3218
Re: vcpufreq development thread
« Reply #23 on: January 19, 2009, 08:19:02 am »

BTW, that's a link to your logged in session joe... here is a link to the unsecured download page
http://developer.berlios.de/project/showfiles.php?group_id=10469

Joe1962

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 2499
    • Joe1962's Website
Re: vcpufreq development thread
« Reply #24 on: January 19, 2009, 09:07:09 am »

Ooops... fixed it, thanks!
Logged
O'Neill (RE the Asgard): "Usually they ask nicely before they ignore us and do what they damn well please."
http://joe1962.bigbox.info
Running: VL 7 Std 64 + self-cooked XFCE-4.10

Joe1962

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 2499
    • Joe1962's Website
Re: vcpufreq development thread
« Reply #25 on: November 10, 2009, 11:20:44 am »

There is a much revised version of vcpufreq close to release. This has an overhaul of the UI and the multi-CPU / multi-core support. It will be released as version 2.2.0, but I would like to invite you all to a discussion here on the design decisions made for this version. A couple of points to begin with:

1- It is hardwired for a maximum of 8 CPUs/cores: (suggestions on how to make this dynamic from the UI point of view)

2- It sets the same governor, max freq., min freq. and current freq. for all CPUs/cores: (are individual settings at all neccessary in real life?

Here's a screenshot to wet the appetite (click on the thumbnail):



So as not to be redundant, a bit more info can be found in this post:
http://forum.vectorlinux.com/index.php?topic=10684.msg68731#msg68731

Binaries for beta testing can be found in this post:
http://forum.vectorlinux.com/index.php?topic=10684.msg68733#msg68733
« Last Edit: November 11, 2009, 10:11:15 am by Joe1962 »
Logged
O'Neill (RE the Asgard): "Usually they ask nicely before they ignore us and do what they damn well please."
http://joe1962.bigbox.info
Running: VL 7 Std 64 + self-cooked XFCE-4.10

M0E-lnx

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 3218
Re: vcpufreq development thread
« Reply #26 on: November 10, 2009, 02:31:37 pm »

I dont think your link for the screenie is right...

M0E-lnx

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 3218
Re: vcpufreq development thread
« Reply #27 on: November 10, 2009, 03:48:42 pm »

Very nice new gui.
How about processing the output of "cat /proc/cpuinfo | grep ^processor" to make the number of available cpus dynamic.

It will print something like
Quote
processor: 0
processor: 1
You can just count the number of lines printed by this command... this will be the number of processors/cores available

Joe1962

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 2499
    • Joe1962's Website
Re: vcpufreq development thread
« Reply #28 on: November 11, 2009, 10:05:04 am »

I dont think your link for the screenie is right...
It's weird, sometimes it shows, sometimes not, and refreshing the page often gets the opposite status... ???

Very nice new gui.
Thanks!  ;D

How about processing the output of "cat /proc/cpuinfo | grep ^processor" to make the number of available cpus dynamic.
I actually meant how to handle this GUI-wise. There are several ways to get the processor count, I was thinking of a different way, yours is another to ponder, but it' s really the way to present this to the user that I'm not too sure about. Should I even try to generate the GUI dynamically according to the number of CPUs/cores, or just design for a maximum and gray out the ones not present?


EDIT: Ok, I changed the screenie link to the official thumbnail and link recommended on that upload site, let me know if it works for you.
« Last Edit: November 11, 2009, 10:14:15 am by Joe1962 »
Logged
O'Neill (RE the Asgard): "Usually they ask nicely before they ignore us and do what they damn well please."
http://joe1962.bigbox.info
Running: VL 7 Std 64 + self-cooked XFCE-4.10

M0E-lnx

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 3218
Re: vcpufreq development thread
« Reply #29 on: November 11, 2009, 11:06:50 am »

Ohw!.
Yeah, I would try to generate the gui objects dynamically based on the processor count. Definitely

Another option would be to use a grid object and fill-out the necessary fields for existing processors.
Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 5