VectorLinux
September 16, 2014, 09:05:43 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: 1 2 [3] 4 5
  Print  
Author Topic: vcpufreq development thread  (Read 24157 times)
Joe1962
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 2499



WWW
« Reply #30 on: February 02, 2010, 07:44:17 am »

After some pretty extensive code reorganization and simplification, plus further multi-core debugging, I am releasing 2.2.0 as stable to get more testers... Wink

I am currently unable to ftp to BerliOS (can't get gftp or filezilla working through squid), or ssh to the VL repo (lost my private ssh key for it), so I will post the package here. Please help me get it to the repo... Grin

Due to file type attachment limitations, I had to add ".zip" to the end of the package name, please just remove that... Roll Eyes
Logged

O'Neill (RE the Asgard): "Usually they ask nicely before they ignore us and do what they damn well please."
http://joe1962.bigbox.info
Running: VL 7 Std 64 + self-cooked XFCE-4.10
M0E-lnx
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 3179



« Reply #31 on: February 02, 2010, 10:18:23 am »

I've placed it in testing... Will post an announcement after the repos trigger
Logged

Joe1962
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 2499



WWW
« Reply #32 on: February 02, 2010, 11:18:47 am »

Thanks!
Logged

O'Neill (RE the Asgard): "Usually they ask nicely before they ignore us and do what they damn well please."
http://joe1962.bigbox.info
Running: VL 7 Std 64 + self-cooked XFCE-4.10
Joe1962
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 2499



WWW
« Reply #33 on: May 18, 2010, 09:12:29 am »

Recently found a bug in vcpufreq-loader introduced after removing a configuration variable during the code refactoring. This caused it to look at the wrong setting in the ini file, so startup loading of the vcpufreq settings was not working. Here is a VL6 package of the fixed version 2.2.1. Sorry about the inconvenience, but that's what happens when nobody reports bugs... Wink


EDIT: BTW, I added a few extensions to the list of allowed attachment types, so it would take VL packages, etc.

EDIT 2: I meant allowed attachment types on the Forum, of course...
« Last Edit: May 19, 2010, 04:11:51 am by Joe1962 » Logged

O'Neill (RE the Asgard): "Usually they ask nicely before they ignore us and do what they damn well please."
http://joe1962.bigbox.info
Running: VL 7 Std 64 + self-cooked XFCE-4.10
budulay
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 568


NewComer


« Reply #34 on: May 18, 2010, 10:03:18 pm »

Seems to be working great here, thank you for all your work.

I think I know which bug you're talking about. At the time I assumed I was doing something wrong, that's why I didn't say anything. Wink
Logged

VL6.0-Light@MSI MS-1652(AMD TurionX2 ZM-84 2300 MHZ, 4 GB RAM, 250 GB HDD, Nvidia GForce 9600M GT, GIGABYTE AirCruiser N300)
Registered Linux user #473602
SlackBuild Repository for VL7.Not much but it's a start. Join in!
Joe1962
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 2499



WWW
« Reply #35 on: May 19, 2010, 04:14:18 am »

You're welcome!

And I know what you mean about not noticing the bug, it took me quite a while to realize it wasn't loading the settings on start up here on my own laptop, LOL.
Logged

O'Neill (RE the Asgard): "Usually they ask nicely before they ignore us and do what they damn well please."
http://joe1962.bigbox.info
Running: VL 7 Std 64 + self-cooked XFCE-4.10
nightflier
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 4023



« Reply #36 on: May 19, 2010, 05:57:30 am »

My new desktop E8500 CPU supports scaling. Tested above package on VL6 KDE-Classic with kernel 2.6.31.8.
Set to "ondemand" and CPU throttling did kick in. Checked "Save on exit" and "Load on boot" boxes and rebooted.
Settings returned to "userspace" and CPU running at full speed.
Ran /sbin/vcpufreq-loader.gambas, rebooted, same thing.
Added /sbin/vcpufreq-loader.gambas to /etc/rc.d/rc.local, now it loads on boot.  Grin

The package refers to "CLI vcpufreq-load", but the actual executable is vcpufreq-loader.gambas. This may be a little confusing.
Logged
Joe1962
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 2499



WWW
« Reply #37 on: May 19, 2010, 06:05:43 am »

Added /sbin/vcpufreq-loader.gambas to /etc/rc.d/rc.local, now it loads on boot.  Grin
VL used to have that line there by default, but I notice it is not there anymore on VL6 SOHO.

The package refers to "CLI vcpufreq-load", but the actual executable is vcpufreq-loader.gambas. This may be a little confusing.
You are correct, that was the original name, time to fix the description, thanks.
Logged

O'Neill (RE the Asgard): "Usually they ask nicely before they ignore us and do what they damn well please."
http://joe1962.bigbox.info
Running: VL 7 Std 64 + self-cooked XFCE-4.10
retired1af
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1261



« Reply #38 on: May 21, 2010, 06:24:23 am »

VL used to have that line there by default, but I notice it is not there anymore on VL6 SOHO.

Finally got around to fiddling with this today, and I did find that line in rc.d. It was commented out, but it was there.
Logged

ASUS K73 Intel i3 Dual Core 2.3GHz
Joe1962
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 2499



WWW
« Reply #39 on: May 21, 2010, 01:22:38 pm »

A little help placing the package in testing would be welcome... Wink
Logged

O'Neill (RE the Asgard): "Usually they ask nicely before they ignore us and do what they damn well please."
http://joe1962.bigbox.info
Running: VL 7 Std 64 + self-cooked XFCE-4.10
retired1af
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1261



« Reply #40 on: May 21, 2010, 02:21:27 pm »

Like a dummy, when I installed RC2.8, guess what got whacked with the old installation? I know I backed the SSH keys up someplace, gotta find 'em. **banging head on desk**
Logged

ASUS K73 Intel i3 Dual Core 2.3GHz
nightflier
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 4023



« Reply #41 on: May 22, 2010, 06:12:51 am »

I don't have access to move package, but can report successful testing on three different computers. My Core2 Duo desktop, another desktop with an AMD K8 dual core, and my Celeron-M laptop.
Logged
retired1af
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1261



« Reply #42 on: May 22, 2010, 06:17:42 am »

**sigh** I've had to redo the keys and send them off to John to get updated on the server. I didn't save them. Didn't even think of doing it when I copied the selected folders from /home when I installed the new RC.
Logged

ASUS K73 Intel i3 Dual Core 2.3GHz
Joe1962
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 2499



WWW
« Reply #43 on: May 24, 2010, 04:05:03 am »

Yes, I have to generate new keys and send them to John as well, except I needed to that months ago... Embarrassed   Work and life have been way hectic lately and having port 22 blocked on the proxy at work doesn't help much either.
Logged

O'Neill (RE the Asgard): "Usually they ask nicely before they ignore us and do what they damn well please."
http://joe1962.bigbox.info
Running: VL 7 Std 64 + self-cooked XFCE-4.10
Joe1962
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 2499



WWW
« Reply #44 on: July 03, 2010, 11:20:33 am »

I had some quality vcpufreq coding time between watching games from the FIFA World Cup (got me some vacation time after the groups stage), so here comes vcpufreq-2.4.0, with the following changelog:

Code:
2010-06-30   <joe1962@users.berlios.de>

* Always save settings on exit
* Removed "Save on exit" setting and related cleanup
* Extensive GUI restructuring for compactness
* Light green background for info-only textboxes
* Replaced per-CPU freq. textboxes by a dynamically-generated grid

I fixed the gambas/gambas2 dependency issue on the package, which had snuck back in for 2.2.1 after I fixed it at one point, sorry about that. I also thought that gambas2-2.16 was in the repo, but it seems to be still at 2.15? So I used that as dep instead. Time to get some 2.20.2 packages done, I am using that gambas2 version from some slacky.eu packages I installed.

Anyway, I am attaching the package here as I have been doing lately...
Logged

O'Neill (RE the Asgard): "Usually they ask nicely before they ignore us and do what they damn well please."
http://joe1962.bigbox.info
Running: VL 7 Std 64 + self-cooked XFCE-4.10
Pages: 1 2 [3] 4 5
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!