VectorLinux

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Visit our home page for VL info. For support and documentation, visit the Vector Linux Knowledge Center or search the Knowledge Center and this Forum using the search box above.

Pages: 1 2 3 [4] 5

Author Topic: vcpufreq development thread  (Read 26844 times)

nightflier

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 4108
Re: vcpufreq development thread
« Reply #45 on: July 03, 2010, 05:41:37 pm »

Got the package. Will upload to my contrib.
Logged

retired1af

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1310
Re: vcpufreq development thread
« Reply #46 on: July 04, 2010, 09:36:21 am »

Installed fine. Running vcpufreq.gambas displays the screen, however the current frequency is not being displayed on the right hand side for some reason.
Logged
ASUS K73 Intel i3 Dual Core 2.3GHz

nightflier

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 4108
Re: vcpufreq development thread
« Reply #47 on: July 04, 2010, 11:55:38 am »

Installed fine. Running vcpufreq.gambas displays the screen, however the current frequency is not being displayed on the right hand side for some reason.

I get the same thing. Additionally, the slack-desc still refers to vcpufreq-load rather than vcpufreq-loader.gambas.
Logged

Joe1962

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 2499
    • Joe1962's Website
Re: vcpufreq development thread
« Reply #48 on: July 04, 2010, 01:58:42 pm »

Installed fine. Running vcpufreq.gambas displays the screen, however the current frequency is not being displayed on the right hand side for some reason.

I get the same thing. Additionally, the slack-desc still refers to vcpufreq-load rather than vcpufreq-loader.gambas.

Can you guys post a screenshot, plus some machine specs related to the CPUs? Also, run it from a console and see if there are any warnings or errors. I will fix the slack-desc, thanks for the heads-up.


EDIT: Also please post the Gambas version installed.
Logged
O'Neill (RE the Asgard): "Usually they ask nicely before they ignore us and do what they damn well please."
http://joe1962.bigbox.info
Running: VL 7 Std 64 + self-cooked XFCE-4.10

nightflier

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 4108
Re: vcpufreq development thread
« Reply #49 on: July 04, 2010, 08:10:11 pm »

On my laptop:
uname -a
Linux tor.linux.net 2.6.27.29 #1 SMP PREEMPT Sat Aug 15 09:49:15 MDT 2009 i686 Intel(R) Celeron(R) M CPU        430  @ 1.73GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux

ls /var/log/packages/gambas2-runtime-2.10.2-i586-1vl60

vcpufreq-loader.gambas
vcpufreq-loader enabled in config...
CPUFreqPath: /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq
Set scaling governor CPU0: ondemand
Set scaling max freq. CPU0: 1733000 (1.733 GigaHertz)
Set scaling min freq. CPU0: 217000 (217 MegaHertz)

vcpufreq driver: p4-clockmod

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
On my desktop it works fine. I do get the freq readout.  :) Some vitals about it:
2.6.31.8 #1 SMP PREEMPT Mon Dec 14 19:28:23 MST 2009 i686 Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU     E8500  @ 3.16GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux
Same gambas2-runtime as above.
vcpufreq driver acpi-cpufreq.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Upgraded to gambas2-runtime-2.15.0-i586-1vl60 (skipped the mysql and postgresql deps, though). No change.
Logged

retired1af

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1310
Re: vcpufreq development thread
« Reply #50 on: July 04, 2010, 08:51:37 pm »

This is on my notebook as well....

uname -a

Linux bodacious.Linux.net 2.6.31.11 #1 SMP PREEMPT Wed Apr 28 02:05:15 PDT 2010 i686 AMD Turion(tm) 64 X2 Mobile Technology TL-60 AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux

/var/log/packages/gambas2-runtime-2.16.0-i586-1vl60

Screenshot is from the cli. No errors on running vcpufreq.gambas.
Logged
ASUS K73 Intel i3 Dual Core 2.3GHz

Joe1962

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 2499
    • Joe1962's Website
Re: vcpufreq development thread
« Reply #51 on: July 05, 2010, 06:04:19 pm »

Here's a fix for the empty grid with single CPU/core, which was a bug. Please retired1af also test it on your AMD Turion(tm) 64 X2 Mobile just in case. If it doesn't fix the latter, we would have to check if there are differences in the kernel cpufreq interfaces between AMD and INTEL, something I really hope does not happen... :o

Changelog:
Code: [Select]
2010-07-05   <joe1962@users.berlios.de>

* Released 2.4.1

2010-07-05   <joe1962@users.berlios.de>

* BUG: CPUFreq_Refresh() did not update gridview for single CPU/core

« Last Edit: July 05, 2010, 06:06:04 pm by Joe1962 »
Logged
O'Neill (RE the Asgard): "Usually they ask nicely before they ignore us and do what they damn well please."
http://joe1962.bigbox.info
Running: VL 7 Std 64 + self-cooked XFCE-4.10

retired1af

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1310
Re: vcpufreq development thread
« Reply #52 on: July 05, 2010, 06:23:35 pm »

Pulls in CPU0 but not CPU1.
Logged
ASUS K73 Intel i3 Dual Core 2.3GHz

nightflier

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 4108
Re: vcpufreq development thread
« Reply #53 on: July 05, 2010, 07:26:55 pm »

2.4.1 fixed it for my single core Celeron.  ;D
Logged

Joe1962

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 2499
    • Joe1962's Website
Re: vcpufreq development thread
« Reply #54 on: July 05, 2010, 09:30:13 pm »

Pulls in CPU0 but not CPU1.

I think I understand now. There is a check in vcpufreq for "affected CPUs"  when setting the freq. on CPU0. This means any CPUs which are linked to CPU0 and whose freq. changes with it. I had only seen this so far on hyperthreading CPUs, where there are no real separate CPUs or cores, but I guess your Turion also works like that, even though the X2 is supposed to be a true dual-core. In cases like this, vcpufreq only sets CPU0, instead of looping through all the CPUs/cores to set them. I had initially figured why show the rest of the values in the grid when they simply cannot have a different freq. Now I think it should just show them all regardless. I should have that done tomorrow... :)
Logged
O'Neill (RE the Asgard): "Usually they ask nicely before they ignore us and do what they damn well please."
http://joe1962.bigbox.info
Running: VL 7 Std 64 + self-cooked XFCE-4.10

Joe1962

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 2499
    • Joe1962's Website
Re: vcpufreq development thread
« Reply #55 on: July 06, 2010, 08:44:30 am »

And here it is as promised... ;D

Changelog:
Code: [Select]
2010-07-06   <joe1962@users.berlios.de>

* Released 2.4.2

2010-07-06   <joe1962@users.berlios.de>

* BUG: CPUFreq_Refresh() only updated gridview for CPU0 when others "affected"

Logged
O'Neill (RE the Asgard): "Usually they ask nicely before they ignore us and do what they damn well please."
http://joe1962.bigbox.info
Running: VL 7 Std 64 + self-cooked XFCE-4.10

retired1af

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1310
Re: vcpufreq development thread
« Reply #56 on: July 06, 2010, 09:01:10 am »

Downloaded, installed and working great! :)
Logged
ASUS K73 Intel i3 Dual Core 2.3GHz

nightflier

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 4108
Re: vcpufreq development thread
« Reply #57 on: July 06, 2010, 03:51:49 pm »

I am not at home with access to contrib for a week. If need be I'll help move package when I return.
Logged

Joe1962

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 2499
    • Joe1962's Website
Re: vcpufreq development thread
« Reply #58 on: July 06, 2010, 05:47:34 pm »

Thanks, guys!
Logged
O'Neill (RE the Asgard): "Usually they ask nicely before they ignore us and do what they damn well please."
http://joe1962.bigbox.info
Running: VL 7 Std 64 + self-cooked XFCE-4.10

nightflier

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 4108
Re: vcpufreq development thread
« Reply #59 on: July 06, 2010, 11:30:56 pm »

Got a break from work.  ;D Posting package.
Logged
Pages: 1 2 3 [4] 5