VectorLinux
July 28, 2014, 12:16:50 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
Author Topic: Back to vectoring with 6.0 - now the questions...  (Read 2948 times)
haywire
Vectorian
****
Posts: 507


« on: June 12, 2009, 03:21:36 am »

Greetings, its been awhile since I have posted here...

I started using vector some time ago, I finally got around to getting a faster pc and I installed Vector gold from the download iso.  Since I have a decent pc now, I was interested in using the compiz desktop stuff I've seen with the 3d desktop. I installed the package, but no ideas how to actually use it... DOH. Anyone using this?

Also, I found an ardour package for 2.0 but it did not work, don't we, or didn't we have a build available anymore?
I am also interested in packages for virtualbox, but I have no idea how to install this or make one. They provide debian, ubuntoo and many other distro packages, like rpm builds, but not a slackware one, do we have a build available?
I'm interested in installing a virtual machine for the very few windows apps I still need, and I'd rather not screw around with wine forever, especially because I want direct x apps for some sound stuff...

Also, what about dosbox? Don't we have a dosbox build? If so I didn't see one.
Also, is anyone using uea for linux, is there a build for vectorlinux? Haven't tried yet, but I'd like to install that as well.

I got synchterm, audacity, milkytracker, and more all working tonight. I have about everything I need except for these things I mentioned above, so any help, I would greatly appreciate...

Also, someone here helped me before with some dumb desktop questions...

1) How do I get the cdrom and floppy to automount and put an icon on the desktop at bootup? I'm using xfce, the default...

2) I'd like a resizeable ramdisk to be created at bootup, mounted and an icon on the desktop, I remember that,again
someone here helped me do this before...

3) Is there a way to get an uptime monitor on the bottom bar? Didn't see anything like that.

4) Can I get the ubuntoo gnome gremlin sidebar system monitor thing somehow in vector?


Also, is there some docs besides the ones that come with vector that may be helpful for me to learn to build/install apps from the source tarballs? When I have some more time, I really want to learn this so I can be more self suffecient and not always bother others for these things. Maybe I could also contribute to the repositories...?

6.0 is running beautifully on this "new" pc, its really from a surplus place, but it runs vector beautifully...
My computer has been up since the install, no worries, no blue screens, no driver problems, no reboots,
no hair pulling, its just great.

I'm going to go try a better video card, the built in video card only does 1280x1024 for some reason in vector, in windows it did 1600xwhatever...?

Sorry so many questions, as always thanks for the help and support... Unlike other distros this place is always helpful
and supportive, its a large part of why I still use vector instead of other distros. We have a great community here.

Thanks!

Steven









Logged
haywire
Vectorian
****
Posts: 507


« Reply #1 on: June 12, 2009, 08:59:14 am »

Sorry for all the questions... I did some more work and research this morning...

Found gremlin, problem solved. helps to look in the right directory...  DOH!

Built dosbox, and its working nicely... problem solved.

Software problems/need installing still :

EUAE
virtualbox or equivelant free/open source solution.
Ardour

Any help on these would be awesome please...

Hardware still a problem...
Installed a better video card, but it will still only do 1280x1024... Strange, maybe its the monitor but that runs 1600x1200 on windows 98 even...?

Thanks,

Steven



Logged
lagagnon
Global Moderator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 1922



WWW
« Reply #2 on: June 12, 2009, 09:00:41 am »

Installed a better video card, but it will still only do 1280x1024... Strange, maybe its the monitor but that runs 1600x1200 on windows 98 even...?

What video card? Show us the output to "lspci". Also show us your /etc/X11/xorg.conf file.
Logged

"As people become more intelligent they care less for preachers and more for teachers". Robert G. Ingersoll
rbistolfi
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2276


« Reply #3 on: June 12, 2009, 09:10:48 am »

For building Ardour you can use this script from SlackBuilds.org:

http://slackbuilds.org/repository/12.2/audio/ardour/

I will make a package for vector if I can find the time.

HTH
Logged

"There is a concept which corrupts and upsets all others. I refer not to Evil, whose limited realm is that of ethics; I refer to the infinite."
Jorge Luis Borges, Avatars of the Tortoise.

--
Jumalauta!!
nightflier
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 4018



« Reply #4 on: June 12, 2009, 10:14:33 am »

The highest "pre-defined" resolution in the VL installer is  1280x1024. You can specify a higher one either by editing xorg.conf, or using control center on proprietary video drivers (nvidia, or fglrx for ATI).
Logged
haywire
Vectorian
****
Posts: 507


« Reply #5 on: June 12, 2009, 06:09:53 pm »

Here is the info requested :

root:# lspci
00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation 82865G/PE/P DRAM Controller/Host-Hub Interface (rev 02)
00:02.0 Display controller: Intel Corporation 82865G Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 02)
00:1d.0 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801EB/ER (ICH5/ICH5R) USB UHCI Controller #1 (rev 02)
00:1d.1 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801EB/ER (ICH5/ICH5R) USB UHCI Controller #2 (rev 02)
00:1d.2 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801EB/ER (ICH5/ICH5R) USB UHCI Controller #3 (rev 02)
00:1d.3 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801EB/ER (ICH5/ICH5R) USB UHCI Controller #4 (rev 02)
00:1d.7 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801EB/ER (ICH5/ICH5R) USB2 EHCI Controller (rev 02)
00:1e.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801 PCI Bridge (rev c2)
00:1f.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corporation 82801EB/ER (ICH5/ICH5R) LPC Interface Bridge (rev 02)
00:1f.1 IDE interface: Intel Corporation 82801EB/ER (ICH5/ICH5R) IDE Controller (rev 02)
00:1f.2 IDE interface: Intel Corporation 82801EB (ICH5) SATA Controller (rev 02)
00:1f.3 SMBus: Intel Corporation 82801EB/ER (ICH5/ICH5R) SMBus Controller (rev 02)
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc Rage 128 PD/PRO TMDS
01:01.0 Multimedia audio controller: Creative Labs SB Live! EMU10k1 (rev 07)
01:01.1 Input device controller: Creative Labs SB Live! Game Port (rev 07)
01:08.0 Ethernet controller: Intel Corporation 82562EZ 10/100 Ethernet Controller (rev 01)
Subculture:/~


I tried building the ardour package, but got errors somehow, but then I'm not very good at building from source packages. I will try again tonight.

I found a binary build of EUAE, so that problem is solved. All I have left to deal with is trying to get 1600x1200 resolution, then getting ardour built... Then getting virtualbox built and installed.
Any help I would greatly appreciate. I guess I can try and mody the xgui conf file, but I'm worried if I do that and this video card won't do that res, I will be stuck and have to start all over...?

Steven

Logged
haywire
Vectorian
****
Posts: 507


« Reply #6 on: June 12, 2009, 06:15:35 pm »

Forgot, here is the xorg.conf file, but it looks like 1600x1200 is already there. I'm sure the monitor will handle the res it does even on windows 98...?

Maybe I will try this 24 inch monster crt monitor I have in my garage next...

Xorg.conf file :

Section "ServerLayout"
Identifier     "X.org Configured"
Screen      0  "Screen0" 0 0
Screen      1  "Screen1" RightOf "Screen0"
InputDevice    "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
InputDevice    "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
EndSection

Section "Files"
RgbPath      "/usr/share/X11/rgb"
ModulePath   "/usr/lib/xorg/modules"
FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/TTF"
FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/OTF"
FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/Type1"
FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/misc"
FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/75dpi/:unscaled"
EndSection

Section "Module"
Load  "glx"
Load  "extmod"
Load  "xtrap"
Load  "record"
Load  "GLcore"
Load  "dbe"
Load  "dri"
Load  "freetype"
Load  "type1"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
Identifier  "Keyboard0"
Driver      "kbd"
Option  "XkbLayout"  "us"    ## KEYBOARD_MAP!
Option  "XkbModel"  ""    ## KEYBOARD_MODEL!
Option  "Xkbvariant"  ""    ## KEYBOARD_VARIANT!
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
Identifier  "Mouse0"
Driver      "mouse"
Option       "Protocol" "auto"
Option       "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
Option       "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
Option "DPMS"
DisplaySize 420 315 # 96 DPI @ 1600x1200
Option "UseEdidFreqs" "1"
Identifier   "Monitor0"
VendorName   "Monitor Vendor"
ModelName    "Monitor Model"
HorizSync 31.5-64
VertRefresh 40-90
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
Option "DPMS"
DisplaySize 420 315 # 96 DPI @ 1600x1200
Option "UseEdidFreqs" "1"
Identifier   "Monitor1"
VendorName   "Monitor Vendor"
ModelName    "Monitor Model"
HorizSync 31.5-64
VertRefresh 40-90
EndSection

Section "Device"
### Available Driver options are:-
### Values: : integer, <f>: float, <bool>: "True"/"False",
### <string>: "String", <freq>: "<f> Hz/kHz/MHz"
### [
arg]: arg optional
#Option     "NoAccel"               # [<bool>]
#Option     "SWcursor"              # [<bool>]
#Option     "Dac6Bit"               # [<bool>]
#Option     "Dac8Bit"               # [<bool>]
#Option     "DMAForXv"              # [<bool>]
#Option     "ForcePCIMode"          # [<bool>]
#Option     "CCEPIOMode"            # [<bool>]
#Option     "CCENoSecurity"         # [<bool>]
#Option     "CCEusecTimeout"        #
#Option     "AGPMode"               #
#Option     "AGPSize"               #
#Option     "RingSize"              #
#Option     "BufferSize"            #
#Option     "EnablePageFlip"        # [
<bool>]
#Option     "Display"               # <str>
#Option     "PanelWidth"            #
#Option     "PanelHeight"           #
#Option     "ProgramFPRegs"         # [
<bool>]
#Option     "UseFBDev"              # [<bool>]
#Option     "VideoKey"              #
#Option     "ShowCache"             # [
<bool>]
#Option     "VGAAccess"             # [<bool>]
Driver      "r128"
VendorName  "ATI Technologies Inc"
Identifier "Card0"
BoardName   "Rage 128 PD/PRO TMDS"
BusID       "PCI:1:0:0"
EndSection

Section "Device"
### Available Driver options are:-
### Values: : integer, <f>: float, <bool>: "True"/"False",
### <string>: "String", <freq>: "<f> Hz/kHz/MHz"
### [
arg]: arg optional
#Option     "NoAccel"               # [<bool>]
#Option     "SWcursor"              # [<bool>]
#Option     "ColorKey"              #
#Option     "CacheLines"            #
#Option     "Dac6Bit"               # [
<bool>]
#Option     "DRI"                   # [<bool>]
#Option     "NoDDC"                 # [<bool>]
#Option     "ShowCache"             # [<bool>]
#Option     "XvMCSurfaces"          #
#Option     "PageFlip"              # [
<bool>]
Driver      "intel"
VendorName  "Intel Corporation"
Identifier "Card1"
BoardName   "82865G Integrated Graphics Controller"
BusID       "PCI:0:2:0"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Device "Card0"
Identifier "Screen0"
Monitor    "Monitor0"
DefaultDepth 24
SubSection "Display"
Viewport   0 0
Depth     1
Modes "1600x1200" "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Viewport   0 0
Depth     4
Modes "1600x1200" "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Viewport   0 0
Depth     8
Modes "1600x1200" "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Viewport   0 0
Depth     15
Modes "1600x1200" "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Viewport   0 0
Depth     16
Modes "1600x1200" "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Viewport   0 0
Depth     24
Modes "1600x1200" "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Device "Card0"
Identifier "Screen1"
Monitor    "Monitor1"
DefaultDepth 24
SubSection "Display"
Viewport   0 0
Depth     1
Modes "1600x1200" "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Viewport   0 0
Depth     4
Modes "1600x1200" "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Viewport   0 0
Depth     8
Modes "1600x1200" "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Viewport   0 0
Depth     15
Modes "1600x1200" "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Viewport   0 0
Depth     16
Modes "1600x1200" "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Viewport   0 0
Depth     24
Modes "1600x1200" "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "DRI"
Mode 0666
EndSection

Section "Extensions"
Option "Composite" "on"
EndSection


No idea what to try next, any ideas guys?

Steven
Logged
rbistolfi
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2276


« Reply #7 on: June 12, 2009, 06:49:42 pm »

The r128 driver supports 1800x1440  @  70Hz as a maximum. The man page of the intel driver says nothing about it, but I think you need the i915 driver for this card, maybe one of the folks with more knowledge on video can confirm this one?

Can you show us the output of xrandr ? Is the resolution wrong for both monitors?
Logged

"There is a concept which corrupts and upsets all others. I refer not to Evil, whose limited realm is that of ethics; I refer to the infinite."
Jorge Luis Borges, Avatars of the Tortoise.

--
Jumalauta!!
haywire
Vectorian
****
Posts: 507


« Reply #8 on: June 12, 2009, 07:34:50 pm »

I am not using two monitors... Just one but my bios seems to not have a switch to disable the onboard video...

How do I find this other info you are looking for?

Steven
Logged
haywire
Vectorian
****
Posts: 507


« Reply #9 on: June 12, 2009, 07:37:23 pm »

oops found it... ?:Screen 0: minimum 320 x 175, current 1280 x 1024, maximum 1280 x 1024
default connected 1280x1024+0+0 0mm x 0mm
   1280x1024      60.0*
   1024x768       75.0     70.0     60.0     87.0 
   800x600        85.0     75.0     72.0     60.0     56.0 
   640x480        85.0     75.0     73.0     60.0 
   1280x960       60.0 
   1152x768       55.0 
   832x624        75.0 
   640x512        60.0 
   720x400        85.0 
   640x400        85.0 
   640x350        85.0 
   576x384        55.0 
   512x384        75.0     70.0     60.0     87.0 
   416x312        75.0 
   400x300        85.0     75.0     72.0     60.0     56.0 
   320x240        85.0     75.0     73.0     60.0 
   360x200        85.0 
   320x200        85.0 
   320x175        85.0 


Seems strange that it says 1280x1024 is the max res... I'm sure your right the card supports better, and so does the monitor...

Allright, so I found ONE thing that windows does better than vector linux 6.0 but I'm pretty sure good resolution with 50 crashes a day is not worth the switch back Smiley

Steven
Logged
haywire
Vectorian
****
Posts: 507


« Reply #10 on: June 12, 2009, 10:44:57 pm »

UPDATE ON PROGRESS :
Virtualbox installed and working...
Though I have to try xp or win2k as win98 only works in 16 color mode (yeech!)

As far as ardour... I forgot that its included on the multimedia bonus cdrom you
can get at vectorlinux solutions, so I will download that and burn and try it...

Final issue seems to be the video, but I may just give up and buy a decent video
card. Can someone suggest an inexpensive video card that vector supports well
and does the 3dgl screen savers well? This one is horribly choppy trying to run those 3d screen savers for some reason.

Also, if I get a dual head video card, does vector support a 3 monitor setup?
I will have the two head video card, plus the built in video on the motherboard.
Haven't tried plugging a spare monitor into that yet, but I will try it tomorrow...


Steven






Logged
rbistolfi
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2276


« Reply #11 on: June 13, 2009, 06:26:59 am »

ok, which card are you using? I guess is the Ati one. You have both cards enabled in your Xorg setup, that is why I thought you was using two monitors. I would try disabling the onboard chipset and run vxconf as root to configure your video again.
Logged

"There is a concept which corrupts and upsets all others. I refer not to Evil, whose limited realm is that of ethics; I refer to the infinite."
Jorge Luis Borges, Avatars of the Tortoise.

--
Jumalauta!!
nightflier
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 4018



« Reply #12 on: June 13, 2009, 07:18:26 am »

You may have to drop DefaultDepth from 24 to 16 to get the maximum resolution.
Logged
haywire
Vectorian
****
Posts: 507


« Reply #13 on: June 13, 2009, 07:37:04 pm »

I am using the ati rage card, As I said before there is no switch on the bios to disable the onboard video. I just checked every inch of the bios again, and I'm sure there is no switch to disable it. There are settings for AGP/PCI, AGP aperature size, and frame buffer size, but no way to disable the onboard video completely.

I don't see any way in vectorlinux to disable the onboard video card, any ideas? I just tried dropping the bit depth from 24 to 16 and it had no effect.

Perhaps it is the two video cards causing the problem, like vector is not allowing higher than 1280x1024 because that is the max the onboard video can do?

I'm kind of getting used to 1280x1024, its not so bad I suppose, but I would like 1600x1200.

Steven
Logged
haywire
Vectorian
****
Posts: 507


« Reply #14 on: June 13, 2009, 07:47:15 pm »

I also just tried the open source ati drivers... No go as well, stuck in 1280x1024. Just to be sure I'm not retarded... I'm going to try another monitor that I am absolutely positive can support higher resolution.

This monitor I have is a huge 20 inch old crt monitor... I have a 24 inch huge beast I can also try...
I also just tried doing a quick installation of windows on a spare hard drive... Windows indeed does 1600x1200 on this video card and monitor. Strange problem, I've never seen this before.

Also, I tried a unbuntoo live dvd.. does 1600x1200... Its definitely a problem specific to vector.


Steven
Logged
Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!