VectorLinux
October 25, 2014, 01:38:18 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.

Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Package transfer between machines  (Read 1568 times)
pastorblue

« on: June 14, 2009, 11:54:03 pm »

I am a Linux newbie  at a school in Zambia. We have recently put Ubuntu on our desktop machines but I purchased a copy of VL 6 De Luxe and it proved by far the best for some older laptops we had donated to us. Here's my problem - we can update one Ubuntu machine and then transfer all the update files to the other machines quite easily. We have to do that because Internet access here is very slow and expensive. On VL I want to put all the additional packages and updates onto a CD (or USB memory) and transfer to other machines. I have found the packages (/home/ftp etc etc) but the packages folder contains lots of hidden files which always refuse to copy over, even as root and with cp -f command. Do I need those hidden files, and if so, how do I copy them? Any help appreciated.

Pastorblue
kc1di
Packager
Vectorian

Morse Code Early digital mode. John 3:16

« Reply #1 on: June 15, 2009, 02:06:25 am »