VectorLinux
December 22, 2014, 11:03:40 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.

Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: SOHO 5.8, 5.9 and 6 annoying differences Q&A  (Read 3020 times)
imsohappy

« on: June 12, 2009, 04:14:24 pm »

Hi all; I'm new to this 'community' stuff so if I've missed something please don't get all bitchy!

Firstly: THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU For creating what is in my personal opinion the best version of linux out there. Finally; a Linux which installs properly, has a good sense of humour, has a proper root user, allows you to compile, comes with applications you can use out of the box, has a GREAT file manager (more on this later  Angry ), etc, etc...

Sadly, after using Vector 5.8 extensively on my TARGA Traveller 8126WS (from LIDL no less - came with XP but of course I never used that on it!), and after having the best linux experience of my life, you guys decided to scrap everything I loved about 5.8 in 5.9! - The file manager changed, window manager.. everything. I installed 5.9 in eager anticipation and realised that the user experience had been completely taken away and, of course, I reinstalled 5.8.