VectorLinux
August 27, 2014, 12:47:15 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.

Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Kernel Panic! and problems at system boot time.  (Read 2104 times)
bushcat

« on: June 11, 2009, 06:32:25 pm »

I think this should go to the kernel forum, but since i'm a newbie i'm posting it here.

I using VL standard 6 on an AMD athlon 1.8 GHz processor,and 256mb ram.i'm using a dual boot system with windows.when I start my computer sometime the system stops loading at several places,

• sometimes it stops before lilo loads,where the bios information is shown
  • sometimes after it boots into linux goes on for awhile,then prints some strange code,and some time prints an error
    message saying "Kernel Panic!not syncing-attempted to kill init"
  • and sometimes tho the computer start,the display wont come on to the monitor

there is one more thing,I recompiled the kernel so i can get my modem working,then later on i found a sound blaster live sound card and plugged it in, since I didnt compile the drivers for the sound card into the kernel,i compiled the drivers seperately.wonder if it has got to do something with the errors.I didnt use the computer for long before the kernel recompile,but if im not mistaken these errors didnt occur before the recompile and i didnt get any problem with the windows system,
but now I cant boot into windows because it is corrupted by a virus, Cheesy.

if you guys have any ideas let me know, thanks in advance.
rbistolfi
Packager
Vectorian

« Reply #1 on: June 11, 2009, 06:43:59 pm »